Belize 2.3 – Shine

I confess, the last two days (has it really only been two days?! Seems like much more!) I’ve been struggling with comparing my weaknesses with others’ strengths.

But God has been reminding me that I’m made intentionally. I was made with purpose and am here in Belize for a purpose. Even though I don’t know all the details of why I’m down here, it doesn’t mean that there is no purpose at all. My timing doesn’t need to match those around me. My timing doesn’t even need to make sense to those around me. I just need to trust God in His timing.

As I was reminded of God’s love for me I was able to love on others more freely today.

Adventures for the day –

Mrs. Florida and I went with B. to back street around 5:30am to pick up fresh fruit and veggies from gentlemen who bring it in from the mainland. Apparently they bring it out every Tuesday and this is often where the local supermarkets will get their produce.

Fresh goodies!
img_2553
B. paying for her groceries.

While I was waiting, I snagged one more picture of backstreet:

img_2549
This is the lagoon, not the sea. A boat had just taken off, causing the waves.

Then we followed B. to the beach, met up with some of her friends and rode out to the reef. They swam along it for awhile while we hung back and spoke with Job, our 19 year old driver.

img_2581
Getting to know Job! Good head on his shoulders, great ideas and big heart. Kudos to him for working hard and taking care of his siblings!
img_2576
Beautiful Caribbean Sea this morning! Makes my heart smile. 🙂

Then we made it back home and was greeted by this little guy. He loves sun bathing on Mrs. Florida’s porch.


Then we spent some time in town. We stopped by Tropic Air to change Mrs. Florida’s flight. While we were there, I ran into some YWAM staff as they were welcoming their new students this semester. It was so good to see familiar faces!

Then we headed to arts and crafts (the local street vendors). When I told a man that I was thinking about moving here, he told me that I should marry a Belizean and pointed to himself. Ha!

Arts and crafts is located on back street, on the south end towards Tropic Air.
Handmade bags, headbands, and jewelry.
Mrs. Florida checking out wilk shell earrings.
Handmade necklaces.

Then we made our way over to Conch Shell Inn to see if I could change my reservations but was told to email the owner. They’re right on the beach so I was able to let Mrs. Florida explore the area. As we were walking, I ran into the Guatamalan family I met last time I was down here! I was so happy to see them and am looking forward to spending some more time with them this upcoming week.

Then off to Wild Mango’s for lunch with Mrs. Florida and B.

View at Wild Mango’s. Can’t get enough of it!

After lunch, Mrs. Florida and I stopped by Moncho’s to make reservations for a golf cart for the rest of my stay. Then back home to check in with family and friends.

At night, we made our way over to the Sagebrush Church office to meet up with B. and other OEWM ladies to support a SHINE (Shaping Healthy Identities through Nurturing and Empowerment) event that Mrs. Florida led. SHINE is a program that was developed to empower teenage girls here on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize. B. has been down in Belize running it with Miss San Pedro 2014-2015.

A snippet of Mrs. Florida teaching:

img_2674-2
SHINE girls learning from Mrs. Florida.

Afterwards, I got to spend some time getting to know the girls. They told me that they don’t usually feel safe walking home at night so I offered a girl a ride back. I was surprised at how fast she opened up to me. It showed me how much she craves (positive and appropriate) adult attention.

Pray for these girls? And if you feel led to give financially, you can visit their website and give directly online.

 

(Pictured above: Back Street, view of lagoon this morning.)

Keep following the story here: Belize 2.4 – Divine Connections.

Or catch up from yesterday’s post here: Belize 2.2 – Rest, Receive, Rejoice.

 

Leave a comment